Skip to main content

Frost Burn (Fire and Ice #1) by Erica Stevens



Frost Burn was the book picked for this month's PNR Book Club held by PNR Book Lover Reviews blog. I did not dislike this book, but sadly I can't say I loved it either....


Blurb:
After years of running, Quinn has finally found a town to settle down in while she searches for the man who tore her life apart. Despite her every intention not to, she’s started to put down some roots and make friends. However, the small bit of solace she’s found is quickly shattered when a group of vampires walk into the bar where she works and turn her life upside down. 

Looking only to stop for a few nights and have a good time, Julian never expected to stumble across someone like Quinn. Determined to keep her free from the vampires looking to use her as a weapon, Julian is stunned to discover himself starting to care for the mysterious woman with a dark past she’s unwilling to reveal. It doesn’t take him long to realize that the vampires after her are only a part of the problem. This quiet little town is hiding a violent secret of its own; a secret that not only threatens the town, but Quinn in particular. 



2.5 Stars

Frost Burn is meant to be about Quinn and Julian. Quinn has been through hell and back and wants revenge to what was done to her. But she is also in hiding and afraid of those who might come after her. 
Julian is a very old vampire trying to be better, he doesn't want to be the monster he once was. When his paths crosses with Quinn he wants to help her. She doesn't want his help, but he is as stubborn as she is....

The main reason I didn't love Frost Burn is that it claims this: "The Fire and Ice series is a spinoff based on characters from The Kindred Series. You do not have to read The Kindred Series in order to enjoy this book or its successors."
However that is not true. If you have not read the other series (which I haven't) you will undoubtedly feel lost or bombarded with random pointless information. I really did not enjoy that. At the beginning of the book I didn't know exactly what was going on, I felt I should have known things prior to reading it. And when we got half way I was just bored with the amount of information dumping that was given (necessary when you mention characters and plot from other books so much). So yah... that was my biggest problem with this book...
The other thing that didn't work for me was maturity level. PNR's (for me at least, I realize this complaint is personal) need to be adult romances. This was paranormal YA*. The blurb also says The maturity level of this series will grow with each book and is recommended for readers 17+ so I know that will improve as the series progresses, but it was sadly one other thing that did not work for me here. 

All in all it wasn't a bad book. But there was no way for me to truly enjoy it without having read the other series. So it ended up being very mediocre for me. 

*I'm labeling this as YA. But please note I have not read the other books in the series and the blurb itself does claim that the maturity level go up. The YA label is for Frost Burn only and it is my personal opinion. The publisher probably classifies it differently. 

Comments

  1. PNR Book Lover ReviewsOctober 19, 2018 at 7:42 PM

    Love your review and honest feedback!

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.