Skip to main content

Trailer Park Heart by Rachel Higginson [arc review]

I love Rachel's writing! I discovered her at an author event a few months back and have been hooked since. I might have squealed in excitement when I got this arc... just maybe... hehe On that note, thanks for the arc! 
This book was amazing guys! I was a ball of tears within the first few pages though... consider yourself warned. 


The blurb:
Trailer Park Heart, Rachel Higginson
Trailer park born and raised. It’s my legacy. That’s how my mama lived. And that’s how her mama lived. It’s the life I was born into and it’s the life I swore I would leave the second I was old enough to make it out. 

Only legacies have a funny way of sneaking up on you. An innocent decision the night of high school graduation led to a series of complications in my plans to escape. 

Seven years later, I’ve resigned myself to this small town and the roots I’m tied to. Nothing could make me leave. And nothing could make me spill the secrets that keep me here. 

Until he walks back into town with a chip on his shoulder and a stupid hunch nobody else in town has been smart enough to follow. 

Levi Cole is my opposite. Born on the right side of the tracks with family money to spare, he’s the kind of black sheep that can afford to be rebellious—because his family will always pay for his mistakes. He’s also the only living heir to Cole Family Farms, after his brother Logan was killed in duty seven years ago. 

He sees something in my life that he thinks he has a right to. But he’s wrong. And obnoxious. And he needs to take his stubborn good looks and that intense way he looks at me and go back to wherever it was he came from. 

I know better than to trust men like him. I was born and raised in a trailer park, I know nothing good happens to girls like me—girls with trailer park lives and trailer park hearts. Especially from gorgeous, kind, pigheaded men like him. 


4 stars

This was such a pleasurable read. Heart wrenching at times, but it had a lot of beauty to it.
The book starts off with Ruby, a girl born on the wrong side of tracks determined to have one last hurrah in the town she grew up before leaving everything behind and making something out of herself. That last hurrah ends up with too much too drink and a baby. She never leaves.

Years later her paths cross with a boy that did leave, one born on the right side of tracks and has everything. He returns home to take over the family business and he tries to win over Ruby's heart. To start he doesn't know about the son she now has, and once he finds out he doesn't know who the father is. And she won't tell.

I loved how their story progressed. I loved the glimpses Ruby had into her past too, it was fun joining her as she remembers all the stuff that went down between her and Levi as kids and how your perception of things change with time. What you thought was someone bullying you and giving you crap could potentially have been someone trying to get your attention because they liked you. Their romance was sweet and all those little memories made it even sweeter. 

One negative? It is a little slow at times. But I find that is just Rachel's style of writing, I had the same feeling on her other books. It doesn't bother me all that much because I am a fast reader though. I still love all she writes all the same. 

Release Date: Oct 23rd, 2018
Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b