Skip to main content

Click Date Repeat (Click Date Repeat #1) by K.J. Farnham

Hi sunnies! I have to write two reviews today for books that didn't quite work for me. I am not a big fun of those, but honesty is key right?
That being said, let me first say that I think K.J. Farnham is a great writer. Click Date Repeat is not a small book and she wrote it well. The story may not have worked for me, but that is not due to her writing skills.



The Blurb:
These days, finding love online is as commonplace as ordering that coveted sweater. But back in 2003, the whole concept of internet dating was still quite new, with a stigma attached to it that meant those who were willing to test the waters faced a fair amount of skepticism from friends and family. Such is the case for Chloe Thompson, a restless 20-something tired of the typical dating scene and curious about what she might find inside her parents' computer. With two serious but failed relationships behind her, Chloe isn't even entirely sure what she's looking for. She just knows that whatever it is, she wants to find it.

Chloe's foray into online dating involves a head-first dive into a world of matches, ice breakers and the occasional offer of dick pics, all while Chloe strives to shake herself of the ex who just refuses to disappear. Will she simultaneously find herself and "the one" online, or will the ever-growing pile of humorous and downright disastrous dates only prove her friends and family right? There's only one way to find out...
Click. Date. Repeat.



1.5 Stars

Click Date Repeat is exactly what the title suggests. Chloe starts online dating, she clicks, dates, and when things go wrong, repeats. 
Roughly at 80% into the book she has met so many different guys it is impossible to keep track.
It is a realistic view on online dating and for that I gotta give the author credit. But we meet so many different man and Chloe gets drunk so often that calling this book a romance is a stretch, a big one. The romance is from minimal to non-existent.

Chloe's friends are terrible. I don't even remember last time I disliked secondary characters this much. They have the worst advise possible, have horrible relationships themselves, treat each other like crap and even slut shame each other. This is not a healthy description of friendship.
And let's not forget the crazy mother. Her mother is a nightmare married to a man she clearly can't stand all that much.

The man she meets could potentially make an entertaining story, but it is instead creepy. From stalkers, to creeper, to guys in relationships and even a rapist. Cause I am sorry, but if you are passed out drunk and a guy still has sex with you, that is what he is. The fact she apologized to him later made me want to scream at the book, the guy should have stopped. And than she continues to see him later only to ditch him when he turns out to be a nice guy and want to have something serious with her (although the nice guy comment is up to debate).

Anyway... here is what I thought in the end: If you want to read a somewhat accurate account of how online dating can go wrong where the main character is a drunken idiot with terrible friends, than by all means, read it. But I don't think most of my readers here are into that.

Obviously, a huge thank you to the lovely Lola for the book. 
There is a book for everyone, and this one sadly was not for me. 


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation