Skip to main content

My Defender (Bewitched and Bewildered #8) by Alanea Alder

My Defender, Alanea Alder
I have not been writing a review here on the blog for every single one of the Bewitched and Bewildered books, but I just have to for this one! My Defender, together with the very first book, My Commander, are my favorites in the series. 
I have never laughed so hard in my life with a book as I have with these two books. They are great romances, great PNR stories and also absolutely hilarious! 
Bellow are the blurbs for the first book in the series (in case you haven't yet read) and than the blurb and review for book 8:

My Commander (book 1):
In book one you meet our delicious Alpha Unit leader Aiden McKenzie. When the topic of grandchildren comes up during a weekly sewing circle the matriarchs of the founding families seek out the witch Elder to scry to see if their sons have mates. They are shocked to discover that many of their sons' mates are out in the world and are human!

Fearing that their future human daughters-in-law will end up dead before being claimed and providing them with grandchildren to spoil, they convince their own mates that something must be done. After gathering all of the warriors together in a fake award ceremony the witch Elder casts a spell to pull the men’s mates to them, whether they want it or not.

Aiden is adamant that he doesn’t need a mate and that they would only get in the way, little does he realize Fate is sending him his mate first! He meets his destined mate Meryn Evans and things go downhill from there. In the first twenty four hours she kicks, screams and knocks her bear shifting mate unconscious. They eventually discover that life before finding each other may have been good, but life afterwards is perfect, even if it involves super soaker battles and accidentally discharging hand grenades.

My Defender (book 8):
When a mysterious illness begins to sweep through Noctem Falls affecting the children, Eleanor Kimball is called to the city to see if she can determine what is wrong. As a pediatrician Eleanor loves children and desires many of her own, however, after several dating disasters she has not only sworn off men, but has given up her dream of a family, and the promise of a destined mate.

After discovering Grant in Noctem Falls she is faced with her own insecurities and finds it hard to believe in his love.

Grant Douglas is a man of few words and doesn’t do well surrounded by others. He is scared to death of finding a mate. He believes the harshness of his past, where he struggled to survive, didn’t cultivate a gentle heart. After a series of terrifying nightmares where his mate is at risk, Grant has decided he doesn’t want a mate at all.

When he meets Ellie, he realizes there are some things worth fighting for. Even if it means putting himself out there by becoming the Alpha he was born to be and facing the power he desperately tries to hide.

As Ellie starts to believe in Grant’s love it will take every ounce their combined strength to discover why the shifter children are suddenly falling ill before it’s too late.
 


5 Stars

Noctem Falls is in desperate need of a doctor that understands children, the illness getting to them is not something they know how to deal with. They call the sweet Dr Ellie! She loves children and does everything in her power to see them get better.
Each of these books has a HEA but it also has a very open ending giving it room for the next book and the next couple to make the story their own. And it does that without ever forgetting the previous couples. It is truly wonderful to be on book 8 and still feel the same connections forged with the other couples in their respective books! Alanea Alder is doing amazing job and she has quickly became on of my favorite writers.

I loved everything about our hero in My defender. 
Grant has a broody, silent, tormented exterior but is the softest most loving guy on the inside. It was impossible not to fall in love with him.
Ellie was adorable. She has a heart of gold and I immediately wanted her as a best friend.
Both characters have issues from their past that they need to work on and I loved how all of that got solved. Meryn can be a bit much at times but it is in sweet moments like Grant meeting someone from his past (won't say more not to spoil it for you) that her over the top personality is appreciated.
Ellie and Grant had chemistry of course, but it was different than the other couples. Because Grant is such a softie it had a more sweet undertone to it rather than just passionate heat.

And let's not forget the best part about these books: they are hilarious!
I was worried when they moved to Noctem Falls that some of the humour would cease since a lot of it on the other books was focused on the human shop outside the shifter city. I should not have worried. I cried laughing. You will know exactly when and why when you read the book yourself. I can't even sit here to write this review without giggling silly.

Find these amazing books at:
My Commander #1 - GoodReads
My Defender #8 - GoodReads
My Commander #1 - Amazon
My Defender #8 - Amazon

Bewitched and Bewildered Series - GoodReads
Bewitched And Bewildered (10 Book Series) - Amazon Kindle


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation