Skip to main content

Tiger's Claim (Shifter Rogues #2) by Celia Kyle [arc review]

Another day another wonderful book provided by Read Forever! They just have the best stuff. And of-course, the PNR obsessed here thought this was FaBuLoUs!
Now I need to go and read the first book and every other PNR book Celia Kyle has ever written! 
The Blurb:
Tiger's Claim, Celia Kyle
Jaguar shifter Stella Moore has one thing on her mind - to take down the anti-shifter organization that destroyed her family. Her plans are going perfectly until a sexy-as-sin stranger throws off her game and decides the only way they can both avoid getting caught is to claim her as his girlfriend. Wait! What? Now she has to fly to a tropical island and play along because the alternative is...deadly.

Most people know Cole Turner as an uber-wealthy playboy - not as a tiger shifter who's part of a special ops team to protect his kind. Now his undercover mission has been compromised by a redheaded bombshell, and every animal instinct he has is screaming mate. To survive among so many enemies, they'll have to keep up their romantic act, find their intel... and absolutely not fall in love along the way.

The Review- 4.5 Stars

PNR always has been and always will be my weakness. But even more so are PNR books whose main characters are shape shifters. All time favorite trope right there! And Celia Kyle did an amazing job. 

I didn't know at the time (its the second time I do that in two months #facepalm) that this was the second book in  a series. This time however that wasn't a problem, the book can be easily read as a stand alone. 

Cole is a moody broody tiger shifter and member of SHOC, Shifters Operation Command. Him and his team are trying to take down Unified Humanity, a company that is against shifters. During his operation he catches a jaguar shifter trying to plant explosives at a Unified Humanity event. His only way to save her ass is to say she is his girlfriend. Stella is set on killing the man behind Unified Humanity, he is responsible for her family's demise and she will have her vengeance. 

There was definitely plenty of chemistry between the main characters and I liked the mixture of action,  adventure, and relationship development the book offered. Their strong personalities caused a lot of arguments between the two but it was sweet how they got together and apologized to each other.
The banter between Cole and his team mates was a nice touch, it added humour to a rather serious plot. The story needed that and it worked perfectly. 

The only reason it is not a 5 for me is that the story got interrupted a few times to focus on a another character and the person that will likely be his mate in the next book. I would have preferred if the book had focused more on Cole and Stella. We didn't learn a lot about him, there were glimpses of what his family is like and that was it. But, it was great book nonetheless, a solid 4.5/5! 

Release date: November 27th, 2018
Find the Book at: 


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation