Skip to main content

The Story of Us by Tara Sivec [arc review]

Hello Hello Sunnies!
Two amazing books coming out today. The review for the first went up yesterday, and today we will talk about The Story of Us by Tara Sivec!

The Story of Us, Tara Sivec

The Blurb:
How much can a man take before he breaks?

1,843 days. That's how long I survived in that hellhole. They tried to break me, but I resisted. And I owe it all to the memory of warm summer nights, the scent of peaches, and the one woman who loved me more than I ever deserved to be loved. Now, I'll do anything to get back to her. 

Only Shelby Eubanks isn't the girl I left behind all those years ago. She's someone else, a stranger. My Shelby-my little green-eyed firecracker-would never give up her dreams, would never disappear into her mother's ambitions. But I won't give up on her. On us. I may be broken, and scarred, and not the man I used to be, but I will do whatever it takes to remind her of the story of us.

*thank you Read Forever for the book (given in exchange of an honest review). 

The review: 4 Stars/3 Stars 
I will explain...
It will sound strange to start the review from the end of the book but it just has to be done... the last 50 or so pages were heartbreaking. I did not see that twist coming and it took me completely by surprise. Up to that point the story felt rather flat, something that as a huge romance reader I have read a million times before. But no, I was wrong, so very wrong. That twist changed everything and made me look at everything that happened up to that point on a completely different way. Masterpiece twist right there!
And therefore, 4 Stars for those last 50 or so pages...

Now let's go back to beginning 🙈
The Story of Us is a very emotional second chance romance between a soldier and the girl he was forced to leave behind.
Eli went through hell the last five years and the only thing that kept him going is the hope to go back to the woman he loves and fix things. Shelby thinks Eli is dead, when he is found and rescued her world is turned upside down. She is completely under her mother's thumb and going against her will have strong consequences both in her life and Eli's.
All in all it was a good read, but the amount of drama and almost 'soap opera/telenovela' like story-line got on my nerves at times. There was something worthy of an eye roll far too often and it also got a bit repetitive at points. Still, it was a good story, a solid 3 Stars!

Find the Book at: 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation