Skip to main content

Dangerous Exes (Liars, Inc. #2) by Rachel Van Dyken

I have so many conflicting emotions right now...
I loved the first book in the Liars, Inc. series, Dirty Exes. So much so that I want to reread it right now. And because of that I had high expectations for Dangerous Exes. Did I like it? I think I did... but not all of it... there were great moments but overall it wasn't all that. 
Dangerous Exes, Rachel Van Dyken
Here is the Blurb:

Isla made one teeny little mistake. Now she and her PI company, Dirty Exes, are being targeted by one seriously angry and furiously sexy ex-quarterback. Jessie freakin’ Beckett. But there’s no way some NFL superhunk is going to take her business away. If only he didn’t make her so hot—and bothered.
Jessie wants payback for a ruined reputation. His plan? Top secret. His hard-to-hide arousal for Isla? Not so much. Especially when they let down their guards and sneak a kiss. Like any juicy scandal, it goes so viral, so fast, that only a good lie can combat the bad press. Mortal enemies in a fling? No way. Um…this is love!
Actually…could it be?
Isla’s not faking it. Jessie can’t. As the game of let’s pretend gets real, Jessie forgets all about revenge. That’s the problem. His plan is already out of his control. Now it could undo everything they’ve been trying to build. Coming clean may be the only thing that can save it.


2.5 Stars

The first 50 or so pages were eye roll worthy. Both main characters came across as childish and extremely stupid. For a moment there I was even considering to DFN the book. I am glad I didn't because it did get better but if I had not read Dirty Exes and/or this had been my first book by the fabulous Rachel Van Dyken I am afraid I would have.

The main problem with this book is Jessie. He is childish, irrational, and his need for revenge is misplaced. Until him and Isla start to get along a little better and his anger gets directed to the right person the book was unbearable. Once he realized his errors it got a lot better. It is his ex that deserves his anger and their plans to bring her down are simple but make a much better story. 
On my review for Dirty Exes I said Jessie was a character that needed to get his affairs in order and the same is true here. He is in this situation not just because of his exes actions but his too. Blaming Isla and her company just made him one very annoying character.

Isla was the same feisty and strong character we met in Dirty Exes. I love her bright personality!
I don't agree with all her actions, she got a little childish too. But her childish actions made me laugh and often came from a place of fear. She really liked him and it was never her intention to destroy him. She did what she got paid to do, she investigated him.

Isla's aunt though stole the show! I would happily read all her parts again. That woman was inappropriate, incorrigible and hilarious!

This book had great moments. Isla and Jessie did have a great chemistry. 

All in all not an amazing book. But I do strongly recommend you read Dirty Exes if you haven't yet. It was honestly one of my favorite romance books this year. Whatever I may think of this book it does not change the fact that Rachel Van Dyken is an amazing writer, this one just wasn't for me. 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation