Skip to main content

The Bastard's Bargain (The O'Malleys #6) by Katee Robert [arc review]

I have two weaknesses when it comes to romance books: pnr and mafia romance. So obviously I was very excited when I got this and could not wait to read it. Thank you Forever Romance for my copy!
The blurb:
The Bastard's Bargain, Katee Robert
When Keira O’Malley was a child, she used to picture her perfect wedding. The flowers. The dress. Her husband. But nothing could have prepared her for saying “I do” to Dmitri Romanov—cold, domineering and always one step ahead of everyone else in the ever-shifting power plays of New York City. She agreed to his bargain to secure peace for her family, and she may want the bastard more than she’d ever admit, but she’ll be damned if she’ll make this marriage easy for him.

Dmitri knows better than to underestimate Keira for one second. Molten desire smolders between them, a dangerous addiction neither can resist. But his enemies are already on the move, and he needs every ounce of his legendary focus and control to keep them alive. Keira could just be his secret weapon—if she doesn’t bring him to his knees first.

The Review:
Let me start by saying I made a grave mistake... I started reading the book without checking if it was the first book in a series or not. To do that with mafia romances is not clever, there is a usually a whole background story with enemy families, blood feud, etc that gives context to the plot. I noticed that was the case here when I was about 30% in and a little confused with all the names being thrown around. I really enjoyed the book but I don't feel like I have the whole picture even after I finished reading it, this will definitely be a reread for me someday -because I will be reading the series! 

With that in mind... the plot was awesome! All you could expect from a Mafia Romance. Katee Robert did a great job at juggling different family dynamics, the politics of it all and the constant fight for dominance. I just wished I knew the background story to all of them, I was often lost. As good as the plot was I don't recommend you read it as a stand alone. I am very much looking forward to reading the other 5 books and being lost into that world properly.

Or main characters were Keira and Dmitri. 
Dmitri was outstanding. It was pretty obvious from start that he had strong feelings for Keira and wanted her to be well. He did all he could to help her get to a healthy place in life again. Keira may not know it but Dmitri didn't force the marriage on her so he could have a play thing. He remembers her as a feisty strong woman and not the broken thing she is now and that is what he wants. He wants that strong woman by his side, his equal. 
Keira is broken. And here is another part of the book I wish I understood better. There is a background story here, one where her brother dies because of the family business. It is obvious her brother was very important to her, the one that gave her hope for something outside the family business. She used to paint and dream. Now she drinks, uses drugs, and is a skeleton or her former self. She annoyed me to start, but that is byproduct of the alcohol and drugs, Katee wrote her well. 
Dmitri forces her to get clean and sober and so their story unfolds... she thinks he is nothing but a bargaining chip for him and he does all he can to bring her out of her shell again. Their story was great and I can't wait to read their previous interactions in the other books and have a fuller picture of them as a couple.

All in all great book, just not one that should be read as a stand alone. 
I would like to say I learn my lesson but I am sure I will make that mistake again someday... hehe

Go Read Sunnies! 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Amazon


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation