Skip to main content

Tales of a Tomboy: Britain (Tales of a Tomboy, #1) by Evan Grace [arc review]

*adult content*


This book took me by surprise in so many different ways. There were things on it that usually make me turn down a book and yet all of it was written so well I just loved it! 

The Blurb:

I have two rules no dates and no spending the night.
I don’t have time to manage all the complications that come with relationships. And I sure as hell have no desire for any kind of commitment. 
My life is fairly uncomplicated, exactly the way I want it...until complicated literally stumbles my way. Britain Lancaster. Clumsy, plain, inexperienced, and the type of woman I tend to avoid.
Unfortunately for me the universe seems to put her on my path around every corner, forcing me to notice her. To look at her. To really...see her. 
Pretty soon the universe no longer has to go through all the trouble sending her my way since I find myself looking for her, wanting to get to know her. And the more time I spend with her the more I realize that she’s everything I’m not.
Pure, beautiful, innocent...corruptible.
Now I can’t get her out of my head. I want her in ways that could ruin her, taint her, break her, and I can only hope she’s strong enough to survive this.
To survive me.

The Review: 4.5 Stars


I was expecting Silas to be a total ass. So so so wrong. He was the most caring and loving guy and absolutely perfect for Britain. Yes, he made mistakes, but he realized he was wrong fast enough and fixed it fast enough too. I just adored him.
One of the things I am really not into and don't like reading about is BDSM, so when I realized that was Sila's thing I was petrified that would be the end of the book for me. But Evan Grave managed to write those scenes with a lot of care and she never made any of them hardcore BDSM. So although I still did not enjoy those, I was not put off by it either. 

Britain was a great character as well. She is the perfect description of a Tomboy but she is also this really innocent and loving girl and you can't help but want to cuddle with her. No wonder Silas falls for her. 
Britain's story is not the happiest, but it is not the saddest either. She has an amazing family and loves what she does. However, an event from her past keeps her from having relationships.

I loved how Britain and Silas grew to know each other and how much they changed for each other too. It was a perfect love story! 

Find the Book at: Goodreads - Amazon

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation