Skip to main content

A Lady in Disguise by Lynsay Sands [arc review] [audio book]

I am so so so glad I got this one! It had me laughing and swooning all along!
It’s a case of mistaken identities and unmistakable attraction in New York Times bestselling author Lynsay Sands’ classic historical romance, previously published as The Reluctant Reformer!


The Blurb:

Lady Maggie Wentworth must support herself as an investigative reporter. Writing under another name, she’s been exposing the notorious scandals of the ton—this time it’s the “working girls” of London. While interviewing the women, a client enters, and Maggie is shocked to see her beau. She changes clothes with one of the girls and flees out the window, only to be whisked away by a stranger.


Lord James is honoring a deathbed promise: watch over his late friend’s sister. Following Maggie to a house of ill repute, he’s stunned to see her emerge dressed as the notorious Lady X! Hard times must have driven her to such a desperate act, and he is intent on reforming the wanton chit. No amount of protest will stop him from saving her reputation. Now if only he can hold his own desires in check—and keep himself from falling in love.


I laughed loudly in my car while listening to this a few times and again when I walked into work listening its very last 3 minutes. A book that can keep you entertained throughout most certainly deserves praise. I LOVED this one!

A Lady in Disguise had everything I was looking for in a book, a little it of adventure, some mystery, some suspense, a swoon worthy romance, and some very steamy scenes.

Maggie is not what she appears to be or you would expect. She has seen a lot by masquerading as someone else and writing risque articles. Obviously she has to research for those and she puts herself in quite a bit of trouble and some hilarious predicaments while doing so. James and Maggie's paths cross in one of those said predicaments. It was bad enough he thought she was working as a prostitute. 

James is a noble man, even if a bit uptight. When he meets Maggie he is so focus on protecting his dead friend's sister he doesn't stop to ask or wonder if she is actually working as a prostitute. All he sees is a problem he has to fix even if she drives him mad with desire. 

I seriously could not stop listening to this. The banter going on between them, the chemistry, the side characters... all of it was absolute perfection. And the ending? the ending was perfect, swoon worthy, and hilarious! 

And as a closing note--> I have never been a big historical romance reader, but now that I get a few goodies with Libro.fm I might just turn into one. It is so much easier to listen to them than it is to read. Keep that in mind if you are new to sub-genre!

"Hmm. Love of books, love on books, love among books."
will just leave this here... use your imagination! :)

Find the book at: Goodreads - Inklings Bookshop 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation