Skip to main content

Devoted to Love (Devoted Lovers #2) by Shayla Black [arc review]

He was sent to guard her body… he didn’t expect her to steal his heart.
I have mixed emotions on this one. I liked it, but I also thought it dragged a little at times...


Devoted to Love by Shayla Black
The Blurb:

Her sister’s wedding was hardly the place to find a hook up, but after one look at friend-of-the-groom and special operative Josiah Grant, small-town Texas beauty Magnolia West immediately fell in lust. After a stunningly sensual night together, Maggie is prepared for the two of them to go their separate ways. After all, she’s not a happily-ever-after kind of girl. But Josiah—and danger—change her plans.

Josiah isn’t looking for love…but Maggie rouses his body and stirs his heart like no other woman. She’s got a rocky romantic past, and a smart man would steer clear. But when the murder quotient in Kendall County rises and all signs point to a mysterious group nearby who have been harassing Maggie’s family, he can’t leave her unprotected—especially when he realizes he’s fallen hard for her.

As tension mounts and the menace closes in, Josiah will do anything to prove to Maggie that their love is real…but can they stay alive long enough to share it?



The Review: 3 Stars

Let's just start by saying I am a very picky b*** when it comes to romantic suspense. On my teen years suspense and mystery were pretty much all I read and I think it stained me for life. If it drags even a little I just can't do it. And the middle section of this book certainly dragged.

That being said, the romance was sweet, believable, and the characters were more than likable. They were far from perfect but their imperfections also made them relatable. 
Josiah was there for protection, but his attraction for Maggie was too strong to deny. He was devoted to protecting her and in the end there was no way to avoid it, he was also devoted to loving her. 
Maggie was a sweet small town girl with a norty streak known by all; Josiah was warned a few times to stay away. I liked her ferocity and determination to stand against the people trying to take her grandparent's ranch. 
I liked their chemistry too. There was never any doubt that these two belong together and would eventually make things work.

The plot was weird and at times on the verge of creepy, but let's face it, suspense is best delivered that way. It keeps you on edge... the whole cult thing going on was nuts. This book takes small town weirdos to a whole new level! 

Find the book at: GoodReads - Inklings Bookshop - Amazon





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation