Skip to main content

How to Hack a Heartbreak by Kristin Rockaway

This is the right book for you if you enjoy chick lit! 


Blurb:

Swipe right for love. Swipe left for disaster.

By day, Mel Strickland is an underemployed helpdesk tech at a startup incubator, Hatch, where she helps entitled brogrammers—"Hatchlings"—who can't even fix their own laptops, but are apparently the next wave of startup geniuses. And by night, she goes on bad dates with misbehaving dudes she's matched with on the ubiquitous dating app, Fluttr.

But after one dick pic too many, Mel has had it. Using her brilliant coding skills, she designs an app of her own, one that allows users to log harrassers and abusers in online dating space. It's called JerkAlert, and it goes viral overnight.

Mel is suddenly in way over her head. Worse still, her almost-boyfriend, the dreamy Alex Hernandez—the only non-douchey guy at Hatch—has no idea she's the brains behind the app. Soon, Mel is faced with a terrible choice: one that could destroy her career, love life, and friendships, or change her life forever.


Sadly I am not into chick lit and that is pretty  much what this was. It focuses heavily on the internet dating and work environment and not enough on romance. It was not a bad book at all, just not one for someone that enjoys a strong romance story. 

The book also deals with sexism but I didn't find that to be original and as some of you know by  now I am not a fan of feminism in general. I have a little boy at home and when books make all man sound bad I have a hard time enjoying it.

Anyway... it had a good story. Dealt with the reality of online dating and the reality of over generalizing things. Not everything is black and white. In the end, although the main male character has done mistakes he wasn't a bad guy at all.

It is really hard for me to review a book that lacks romance and chemistry, so I am sorry if this one is a little shorter than usual.
If you are into chick lit give it a go, you might just like it.

Find the book at: GoodReads


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation