Skip to main content

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs. 
I am so so glad I still read it.
The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣

Here is the Blurb:
Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relationships and tribulations of their own separate lives, they continue to meet on the same date every year. Until one day Fallon becomes unsure if Ben has been telling her the truth or fabricating a perfect reality for the sake of the ultimate plot twist
The ultimate plot twist towards the end is massive. Shocking! I did NOT see that coming at all and it was one of my favorite things about the book. Romance novels can be so predictable (which I don't mind, I love them regardless) but when you get one that still surprises you like that!!! WOW! And it was beautifully written too. The characters grew through the years, matured, and it shows on the way Fallon treated Ben in the end. Had she found out his secret at the very beginning things would have turned out very differently.

Ben and Fallon's story was quite a ride... At first it was funny and sweet. The way they met, the way he treated her and the way she slowly changed because of him made for an adorable read. As the story progressed things got more intense, more personal. There were heartbreaking moments, moments full of passion, moments full of anger... And towards the end my heart stopped. As I said, that was one shocking plot twist.

Both characters were lovable and well developed. I really enjoy when we get to see character growth on a book, when the love story progresses through years or months rather than days.

All in all, this  was a great romance novel that I will happily reread someday.

Find the book:
GoodReads
Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Colleen Hoover

Comments

  1. That sounds really interesting. I've never read any colleen Hoover, but have been hearing quite a few people mention different books of hers lately. I will keep am eye out for this one.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Well, if you like romance you should give it a try. Her books are intense and really good

      Delete
  2. I totally love this book! It was my first CoHo book and I fell in love with her writing style and the way she tells the story. And Ben - ohh this man is a character that I love in books! Fallon was cool too, btw. XD

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I forgot to mention my IG name, cause my photo says nothing I think XD

      @amanda.says

      Delete
    2. I loved this too!!! So far CoHo is a hit or miss for me, but this one was definitely a hit

      Delete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.