Skip to main content

Chasing Eva by Camellia Hart - 3.5 Stars

This was a pleasantly surprising read. I have never read anything by this author and I really enjoy this story. It was fun, sweet, and had a good dosage of suspense to it too. I was disappointed when it ended because I wanted to know more. So needless to say, I will be reading the next book.

So... the story is mainly about Eva and Clive. 
Eva's father died and left her his interior design business. Even though she finished culinary school and has made a name for herself in the industry, she takes over the company to honor her father's wishes. What she doesn't know is that her father had contacted the FBI and her company is being investigated for fraud. 
Clive owns the company next door and the book pretty much begins with Eva receiving a dismissal letter from them. 
The attraction between Clive and Eva is instant, specially when he realizes he knows her from his childhood... but I won't tell you guys more not to spoil the story for you.

I liked both characters, they were both likable and portrayed in a mature way. The story was easy to read, fast paced, entertaining. The secondary characters were also fun to read and likable.
And that is just it really. It was a fun read with a good added suspense factor, there wasn't a great amount of depth to it, it is not a story I will still remember in two years time... all in all, a great late night read!

*This ebook was provided for NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Find this book: GoodReads - Amazon - Author's site - Nook 
Published: Aug 2016
Genre: New Adult Romance

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.