Skip to main content

Waking Gods (Themis Files #2) by Sylvain Neuvel - 4 Stars

My feelings towards this book are very similar to Sleeping Giants, it was an entertaining sci-fi with a fast pace story, good plot, good characters, and just enough mystery and action. Once again, the audio-book for this was phenomenal. The many voices used for all different characters worked really well! I have the kindle arc for the last book (coming out this May) and I will miss the audio format.

So... the story picks up 9 years after Sleeping Giants, and it does so masterfully. I would argue (even though I am giving both books 4 stars) that Waking Gods is a little better. We already know the characters, some of the background...we go right into the middle of things, there is a palpable tension (yes, that is possible on books 🤣) from the very first pages.

There were more sci-fi elements in Waking Gods, which should please all sci-fi lovers out there. And the stakes are higher, a lot higher. It is no longer a matter of how much damage the robot humans found can make, but its about humanity's survival. At first one robot appears out of nowhere in London, then another one, and another one, and another.... all in some of the most populated cities in the world, and they are not here to make friends.

Our beloved characters are still more or less the same.
Kara still the same free-spirited, strong headed woman she has always been; Vincent will still make you laugh and melt your heart all in one breath; Our mysterious interviewer shares more of who he is and his true feelings towards it all while maintaining his somewhat detached persona; and Dr Rose...well...she is the one that changes most. What happened to her made her darker. Not evil dark, just more pessimist. 
There are a few new characters, mostly very secondary and although important also a tad forgetful. Waking Gods than had the same issue Sleeping Giants did, the characters are hard to connect and didn't feel fully developed. Vincent and Kara added much heart to the story but that is going to be because we already have a whole book with them on it. And since not everyone survives one would hope all characters had been developed better.

And that brings me to plot twists.... I won't spoil to you all, but there are two deaths that I personally didn't see coming. I was in shock when they happened. There are a few more unexpected plot twists and I found them very clever.

If you like sci-fi, do give this a try!

Find the book:
GoodReads
Amazon
B&N- Nook
The Themis Files

Comments

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation