Skip to main content

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel (audiobook)- 4 Stars

I was happily surprised by this book! I got a copy as a gift about a year ago and never read it.
Decided to let the audiobook play while painting the other day and now I am dying to read the next book ( Book 3 comes out this year, May 1st. I have the arc now, so I really need to get on with book 2 😄) !

The basic story-line goes like this: there are pieces of a humongous metal robot -who just happens to be female- scattered around our little planet. A team is put together in a top secret mission and it is tasked to finding the pieces of the robot and of putting her together. Oh, and making her work... that last bit though is easier said than done. 
The way the story is told reminded me of the Illuminae files, another great sci-fi book. Sleeping Giants is told in a series of interviews/reports submitted by an anonymous interviewer who appears to be the one en-charge of the mission for the most part. The story is very easy to follow and it is rather entertaining. And I am so glad I actually chose to go for the audiobook. There are multiple narrators and that made the whole audiobook (since the story is told in a interview format) really interesting and cool to listen to.

So, our team of experts in this massive project are:
Dr Rose. She came across the first piece of the robot while still a child. She falls down in a crater right on top of a giant metal hand. 17 years later she is physicist and our secret interviewer coincidentally chooses her to work on the robot. She is kind and considerate towards her team.

Kara and Ryan are in the US army together and they are brought into the fold secretly as pilots. Their mission appears simple: find the pieces and bring them to base.
Kara is a hot headed, straight forward kind of girl. Her ability to think on the spot is rather handy.
Ryan is good at what he does, but he lets things go to his head.

Vincent Couture (my fav and by far the one who suffers the most) is brought on board to help decipher the symbols in the robot. That will hopefully give an inside on how to make it work properly. He is not great with people, but he is a great person.

Last but not least there is the interviewer. He has an immense power that spans presidential administrations. At first it is easy to see him as a cold-hearted men, but as the story evolves we find there is more to him than first thought.

The story is good, entertaining. The down side to me is that the characters needed a little more depth. 

I don't think I can say much else without giving away the plot. So... Go Read!



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.