Skip to main content

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel (audiobook)- 4 Stars

I was happily surprised by this book! I got a copy as a gift about a year ago and never read it.
Decided to let the audiobook play while painting the other day and now I am dying to read the next book ( Book 3 comes out this year, May 1st. I have the arc now, so I really need to get on with book 2 😄) !

The basic story-line goes like this: there are pieces of a humongous metal robot -who just happens to be female- scattered around our little planet. A team is put together in a top secret mission and it is tasked to finding the pieces of the robot and of putting her together. Oh, and making her work... that last bit though is easier said than done. 
The way the story is told reminded me of the Illuminae files, another great sci-fi book. Sleeping Giants is told in a series of interviews/reports submitted by an anonymous interviewer who appears to be the one en-charge of the mission for the most part. The story is very easy to follow and it is rather entertaining. And I am so glad I actually chose to go for the audiobook. There are multiple narrators and that made the whole audiobook (since the story is told in a interview format) really interesting and cool to listen to.

So, our team of experts in this massive project are:
Dr Rose. She came across the first piece of the robot while still a child. She falls down in a crater right on top of a giant metal hand. 17 years later she is physicist and our secret interviewer coincidentally chooses her to work on the robot. She is kind and considerate towards her team.

Kara and Ryan are in the US army together and they are brought into the fold secretly as pilots. Their mission appears simple: find the pieces and bring them to base.
Kara is a hot headed, straight forward kind of girl. Her ability to think on the spot is rather handy.
Ryan is good at what he does, but he lets things go to his head.

Vincent Couture (my fav and by far the one who suffers the most) is brought on board to help decipher the symbols in the robot. That will hopefully give an inside on how to make it work properly. He is not great with people, but he is a great person.

Last but not least there is the interviewer. He has an immense power that spans presidential administrations. At first it is easy to see him as a cold-hearted men, but as the story evolves we find there is more to him than first thought.

The story is good, entertaining. The down side to me is that the characters needed a little more depth. 

I don't think I can say much else without giving away the plot. So... Go Read!



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation