Skip to main content

Lick (Stage Dive #1) by Kylie Scott- 5 Stars

Lick by Kylie Scott, audio-book cover
I am a big fun of Kylie Scott's romance books and this did not disappoint. The real question is: Why haven't I read this before? I am looking forward to the next one- luckily for me this is not brand new and I can dive straight into it!


"Waking up in Vegas was never meant to be like this."

Evelyn Thomas's plans for celebrating her twenty-first birthday in Las Vegas were big. Huge. But she sure never meant to wake up on the bathroom floor with a hangover to rival the black plague, a very attractive half-naked tattooed man in her room, and a diamond on her finger large enough to scare King Kong. Now if she could just remember how it all happened.


In Kylie Scott's Lick, one thing is certain: being married to one of the hottest rock stars on the planet is sure to be a wild ride." (Book Blurb)

I thought it was hilarious how this book started and adorable how it ended. 

"Let me get this straight, you don't remember anything?" 


"No," I said, swallowing hard. "What did we do last night?" 

"We got fucking married." he growled.

There is so much more to both characters than you assume after their rough beginning. And gosh I felt bad for David. He is not a bad guy who took advantage of her, that is very clear from the start, so I felt for him instantly. 

Evelyn soon realizes she didn't marry a nobody, he is a very famous rock-star and things get complicated (as if they weren't already) real fast. In an attempt to run away from the crazy and sort out the mess David takes Evelyn to his home, the one away from the paparazzi. the plan to start is to stay there until divorce papers are sorted, but as they get to know each other -or she gets to know him- she slowly starts to see why she married him in such a crazy way... I won't say more on the story-line not to spoil it for you all and I strongly recommend you read it.

Evelyn was not necessarily my favorite female character ever written but she was a good girl, down to earth, and honest. I understood her decisions. 
David melt my heart. The guy is tired and finally finds someone who sees him for who is and she completely forgets all about him. That on top of all the insecurities he has because of his past makes things rather hard for him.
The drama that unfold because of the rushed marriage and things that happen afterwards was well written and well thought. At no point did it make me roll my eyes (which can often happen with drama) and it didn't linger forever and ever either. It was fast paced and a pure joy to read.

As another reviewer said: This is a book about taking chances and following your heart and dreams. 

This book was published May 2014.
Find it at:

Comments

  1. My favorite is Jimmy, the third book. Can't wait to see what you think.

    ReplyDelete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.