Skip to main content

Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh - 5 Stars (audiobook)

I am not sure why it took me so long to read this.
Oh, wait... I know: my TBR is the size of a mountain! 🤣

"In order to hate, one must first love."

I read The Wrath and the Dawn two months ago and fell in love, as soon as I was finished with that amazing duology I decided I needed to read Flame in the Mist. I think I still prefer The Wrath and the Dawn, but I did love this book as well. Renee Ahdieh is most certainly a must buy writer for me now. I cannot wait for the next book to come out.
For the blurb go here

The book as a whole was really well written. The world Renee created was fascinating and there were just enough descriptions and details to leave you wanting more. The characters, both main and secondary were really well thought out. I couldn't help but fall in love with every single one of them.

Mariko was a fun main character. She is very smart, albeit slightly naive at times due to her privileged background. 
Her desire for freedom from the expectations put on her by her family and society are the main motivators behind everything she does. Meeting the Black Clan changes her, shows her that there is more to the world than what she grew up knowing. Her character grows as the story progresses and it is fun to take part of that journey with her. She is also very relatable, she may be clever but she is not unafraid and she knows she can't do everything. She isn't a fearless heroine, she is just a girl. 

I loved Okami! He is guarded but not enough that we don't fall for him instantly. His past is marked by tragedy and he carries that pain deep inside, ignoring it rather than dealing with it. 
He knows all the while that there is something off about the clan's new recruit but he can't figure out what it is. He is always watching 'him', waiting for 'him' to make a mistake. And the more he watches, the more protective he feels towards 'him'. The moment he figured out what was off about the new recruit was fun to read. It wasn't sweet or full of anger, it was just a 'well, so that happened' moment that left me a little baffled for a few minutes (in a good way).

The other members of the Black Clan were all lovable characters too. The clan leader Ronamru is actually my favorite! He is not the main character, but I can't help but love him. He is clever and intuitive and always watching. 

The romance was done beautifully. It built slowly into something intense and real.
This has to be one of my favorite things in Renee Ahdieh's writing- her romances feel real. After so much lie and deceit most writers would write chapters and chapters full of angst between the main characters. Renee didn't do that in The Wrath and the Dawn and she didn't do that here either. I appreciate that more than I can put into words. 

Although this is a 5/5 for me I confess it is not perfect. 
First, there are big massive plot holes. Hopefully they will get explain on the next book, but the story would have to backtrack quite a bit to explain them, so I don't know... we will see. In this, I am reserving judgment.
Second, be prepared for a feeling of deja vu! You might end up feeling like you read The Wrath and Dawn in a different world setting. The writing style is the same, the pace is the same, the magic is just as low key (and beautiful), the romance builds up similarly... It is not the same story but it is not completely different either... I don't mind, those are all things I have now come to love in Renee Ahdieh's books, but it is something worthy of being noted. 

"You are first and foremost a person. A reckless, foolish person, but a person nonetheless. If I ever say you are not permitted to do something, rest assured that the last reason I would ever say so would be because you are a girl.” 

Find the book: 

Comments

  1. She writes amazing books. I can't wait to read this either

    ReplyDelete
  2. I still have to wait for Polish premiere of this book, but I want to read it so badly! Hmm, but these plot holes... I'm afraid of them ;/ Hope that everything will be explained in second book. ;)

    @amanda.says

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I am truly in love with her work. And yes, I hope those plot holes get fixed in the next book. The second book will have a very low scoring otherwise

      Delete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation