Skip to main content

Sandpiper Shore by Debbie Mason [arc review] - 3 stars

Sandpiper Shore, Debbie Mason
This was cute. Not the kind of book that will evoke big emotions. It won't leave you in tears or get you laughing aloud, but it was a sweet pleasurable read.

Synopsis: 

Jenna Bell loves her job as a wedding planner and loves a happy ever after even more. Until the day she meets with her newest client and discovers that the bride's fiancé is the man she's had a crush on for years. But she knows the #1 work rule: Never fall in love with the groom.

Secret Service Agent Logan Gallagher arrives at Tie the Knot to make plans with his bride-to-be. But coming face to face with Jenna after all these years brings back feelings that he's fought long and hard to forget. Does his attraction to Jenna mean that he's about to make the biggest mistake of his life?

This is meant to be the 6th book in the Harmony Harbor series but you really can read it as a stand alone.
The story has a Cinderella feel to it. Evil stepmother, troublesome step sisters, a father who died and left everything to the mother, a glass slipper, etc. I love fairy-tale retellings so I enjoyed that side of the story. 
Where I had an issue is when Cinderella retelling turned ghost story. That was unnecessary. For a while there I was really confused and thought that perhaps I miss-read something (I myself read this as a stand alone, so there is a chance this makes more sense if you have read the other books).

Jenna was sweet. Strong believer in true love and in finding your perfect match. The first scenes with her were humorous. Her fiance dumps her for her stepmother and she, like most woman in that situation, goes and gets wasted. But than not like most woman would, she goes and have sex on the beach with hottie Logan Gallagher.
Logan's character than disappears from the picture, goes back to work protecting a princess. He gets engaged to the princess and comes home after an accident to get married at the family home.   
The main characters were all nice. As were the secondary characters. But perhaps a little forgettable? I mean... I don't really remember most details on them already...

Release Date: June 26th, 2018
Find the book at: Amazon - Barnes and Noble - GoodReads

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.