Skip to main content

Sandpiper Shore by Debbie Mason [arc review] - 3 stars

Sandpiper Shore, Debbie Mason
This was cute. Not the kind of book that will evoke big emotions. It won't leave you in tears or get you laughing aloud, but it was a sweet pleasurable read.

Synopsis: 

Jenna Bell loves her job as a wedding planner and loves a happy ever after even more. Until the day she meets with her newest client and discovers that the bride's fiancé is the man she's had a crush on for years. But she knows the #1 work rule: Never fall in love with the groom.

Secret Service Agent Logan Gallagher arrives at Tie the Knot to make plans with his bride-to-be. But coming face to face with Jenna after all these years brings back feelings that he's fought long and hard to forget. Does his attraction to Jenna mean that he's about to make the biggest mistake of his life?

This is meant to be the 6th book in the Harmony Harbor series but you really can read it as a stand alone.
The story has a Cinderella feel to it. Evil stepmother, troublesome step sisters, a father who died and left everything to the mother, a glass slipper, etc. I love fairy-tale retellings so I enjoyed that side of the story. 
Where I had an issue is when Cinderella retelling turned ghost story. That was unnecessary. For a while there I was really confused and thought that perhaps I miss-read something (I myself read this as a stand alone, so there is a chance this makes more sense if you have read the other books).

Jenna was sweet. Strong believer in true love and in finding your perfect match. The first scenes with her were humorous. Her fiance dumps her for her stepmother and she, like most woman in that situation, goes and gets wasted. But than not like most woman would, she goes and have sex on the beach with hottie Logan Gallagher.
Logan's character than disappears from the picture, goes back to work protecting a princess. He gets engaged to the princess and comes home after an accident to get married at the family home.   
The main characters were all nice. As were the secondary characters. But perhaps a little forgettable? I mean... I don't really remember most details on them already...

Release Date: June 26th, 2018
Find the book at: Amazon - Barnes and Noble - GoodReads

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b