Skip to main content

Anti-Stepbrother by Tijan 4.5/5 Stars

I think by now you all know how I feel by Tijan's books: they rock my world! There has not been one single
book by her yet that I did not love (and I have read a lot of them!).
Anti-stepbrother was no different. 
My favorite thing about the book was how the main characters friendship blossomed into something else as the story progressed, it made it all a lot more believable and relatable. 

Another reviewer used this quote and I had to steal is 'cause it describes their relationship perfectly:
LOVE IS FRIENDSHIP THAT HAS CAUGHT FIRE. ~Ann Landers 

Anti-stepbrother is about Summer. She has had a crush on her stepbrother since forever. On her first night in college she finds him with another girl. Not just that, but the other girl has a boyfriend and he is asking for her. In other words, her stepbrother is a scumbag.
While trying to escape the whole thing she bumps into Caden, he is in her brother's fraternity house and isn't all that pleasant to be around. But, a couple of rides later they became really good friends! 
Caden also has a reputation around campus and as she falls for him she knows he would never date a freshman girl, he would never date her.

Summer was hilarious! She speaks what is in her mind even if it is the weirdest thing ever, it made her character fun and sweet. The girl was also a tad aloof, she always ended up being left behind somewhere, which was how Caden ended up taking her to places or home so often. I adored her quirky habits.
Caden was loyal and reliable. Yah he perhaps had some anger issues but never without a reason. And the more we got to know him the more we understood him. The guy has been through a lot.

As per usual all secondary characters were a delight to read. 

There was this little thing at the end I didn't really love. I felt Caden did, with the best of intentions, the wrong thing. It didn't sit well with me and it was a little silly, I didn't find it very realistic. So I guess that is why the 4.5 and not 5... (go all the way to end to read what I am referring too- there will be spoilers)

All in all another masterpiece of a book by the fabulous Tijan!


Find Anti-stepbrother on the following retailers:
iBooks: http://apple.co/1Yg47GW
Nook: http://bit.ly/22Vj7dD
Kobo: http://bit.ly/24CzWcI
Amazon Paperback: http://amzn.to/1WGmyFl




Spoilers: So towards the end Summer has a breakdown, it is about her mother's death. That is ok, and very believable. Many of us suppress feelings like that instead of dealing with them straight away and it does often come back to bite us. What I didn't like was that Caden left her at this point. He had good intentions, he left so she could heal and not use him and how he made her feel to heal. But I didn't like that at all. I found it a little silly, there were other ways he could have helped her without leaving. In the end it helper her but also harmed her... so yah... I wasn't a fun of that. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b