Skip to main content

Smoke in the Sun by Renee Ahdieh- 3 stars

Smoke in the Sun is the conclusion to Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh. Although I liked it, it was not -sadly- her best work.

Synopsis:
After Okami is captured in the Jukai forest, Mariko has no choice—to rescue him, she must return to Inako and face the dangers that have been waiting for her in the Heian Castle. She tricks her brother, Kenshin, and betrothed, Raiden, into thinking she was being held by the Black Clan against her will, playing the part of the dutiful bride-to-be to infiltrate the emperor's ranks and uncover the truth behind the betrayal that almost left her dead. 

With the wedding plans already underway, Mariko pretends to be consumed with her upcoming nuptials, all the while using her royal standing to peel back the layers of lies and deception surrounding the imperial court. But each secret she unfurls gives way to the next, ensnaring Mariko and Okami in a political scheme that threatens their honor, their love and very the safety of the empire.

This is not an easy review to write. I loved Flame in the Mist and had high hopes for this one. There were great moments in this book, but overall it felt short. It dragged, got confusing, had too many things happening at once.

What saved it from being a terrible book? RAIDEN. Yup, you guys read it right. Moody, cruel, obnoxious Raiden made this book somewhat pleasurable. All my 3 stars are for him (ok, maybe 2.8 for him and than a little for Mariko. Hehe). We learn a lot more about him here, just how cruel he can be, but also why and how he yarns to be more.

Okami drove me bananas!!!! The boy has no spine whatsoever. He won't fight for anything and/or anyone. His life is worth nothing to him and he treats the life of those who care for him as if they were nothing too. It is not until the end that he 'grows a pair' and by that point it is too late for me to like him. And as a side note- I did like him in Flame in the Mist even though he annoyed me. It was just too much here.

Mariko was just as brave, as wonderful, and as foolish. I liked her character just as much as in the first book. There was perhaps a little to many paragraphs in her head, got boring at times, but it didn't hinder her character all that much.  

The magic is... I don't even know what to say. 
Actually, I do.
It suffers from saying to much, being to much, and making little sense. Be ready for plot holes.
And really, that is all I have on that.

The side characters were... disappointing. In some instances it felt like the book wanted to tell everyone's story. And a duology cannot do that without ending up with rushed stories. In other instances it didn't say enough. The ever so important Black Clan is almost not present at all.

The ending felt rushed. Short. Abrupt. It left me with an uncomfortable feeling... Raiden was a BIG part of this book and he got no ending at all.

Did I love the book? No
Did I like it? it was entertaining enough.

In the end I believe this is one instance in which a trilogy or a series would have been better. Renee created an amazing world and I felt like she tried to put way too much in this one book and in doing didn't end up with a strong enough story. 

Find the book at: Amazon - Barnes and Noble - GoodReads


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.