Skip to main content

Smoke in the Sun by Renee Ahdieh- 3 stars

Smoke in the Sun is the conclusion to Flame in the Mist by Renee Ahdieh. Although I liked it, it was not -sadly- her best work.

Synopsis:
After Okami is captured in the Jukai forest, Mariko has no choice—to rescue him, she must return to Inako and face the dangers that have been waiting for her in the Heian Castle. She tricks her brother, Kenshin, and betrothed, Raiden, into thinking she was being held by the Black Clan against her will, playing the part of the dutiful bride-to-be to infiltrate the emperor's ranks and uncover the truth behind the betrayal that almost left her dead. 

With the wedding plans already underway, Mariko pretends to be consumed with her upcoming nuptials, all the while using her royal standing to peel back the layers of lies and deception surrounding the imperial court. But each secret she unfurls gives way to the next, ensnaring Mariko and Okami in a political scheme that threatens their honor, their love and very the safety of the empire.

This is not an easy review to write. I loved Flame in the Mist and had high hopes for this one. There were great moments in this book, but overall it felt short. It dragged, got confusing, had too many things happening at once.

What saved it from being a terrible book? RAIDEN. Yup, you guys read it right. Moody, cruel, obnoxious Raiden made this book somewhat pleasurable. All my 3 stars are for him (ok, maybe 2.8 for him and than a little for Mariko. Hehe). We learn a lot more about him here, just how cruel he can be, but also why and how he yarns to be more.

Okami drove me bananas!!!! The boy has no spine whatsoever. He won't fight for anything and/or anyone. His life is worth nothing to him and he treats the life of those who care for him as if they were nothing too. It is not until the end that he 'grows a pair' and by that point it is too late for me to like him. And as a side note- I did like him in Flame in the Mist even though he annoyed me. It was just too much here.

Mariko was just as brave, as wonderful, and as foolish. I liked her character just as much as in the first book. There was perhaps a little to many paragraphs in her head, got boring at times, but it didn't hinder her character all that much.  

The magic is... I don't even know what to say. 
Actually, I do.
It suffers from saying to much, being to much, and making little sense. Be ready for plot holes.
And really, that is all I have on that.

The side characters were... disappointing. In some instances it felt like the book wanted to tell everyone's story. And a duology cannot do that without ending up with rushed stories. In other instances it didn't say enough. The ever so important Black Clan is almost not present at all.

The ending felt rushed. Short. Abrupt. It left me with an uncomfortable feeling... Raiden was a BIG part of this book and he got no ending at all.

Did I love the book? No
Did I like it? it was entertaining enough.

In the end I believe this is one instance in which a trilogy or a series would have been better. Renee created an amazing world and I felt like she tried to put way too much in this one book and in doing didn't end up with a strong enough story. 

Find the book at: Amazon - Barnes and Noble - GoodReads


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b