Skip to main content

Remembrance by Heather Hildenbrand - 4/5 Stars

Remembrance- Heather Hildenbrand
Happy Weekend Sunnies! 
I just finished this beauty and I am about to finish another book. All in three late night's work! hehe I am on a roll :-)

I was given a copy of this book by the lovely author for review purposes and I am very happy to say that I really liked it.
I found that Remembrance follows a very particular style. Do you like the Evermore series by Alyon Noel? Or Hush Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick? Or even the Fallen series by Lauren Kate? To me, all those series even though they have very different plots have similar styles. They are full of fantasy, teen/collage romance, are a tad cheesy, are long (4 books or more) but are easy fast reads too, and well...are not for everyone. Those series tend to either be loved or hated by readers. I happen to love them, so obviously I liked this one too.

It follows the story of Sam, a 20 years old girl who after experiencing a life altering trauma that she cannot remember changed her drastically. Once care free and outgoing now she is always afraid and is socially awkward. 
It is also the story of Alex. He is a werewolf hunter, a good one. But sadly he was bitten and is now in search of a cure for the poison in his blood that is slowly going to claim his life. His search for a cure takes him to Sam, a reading by an oracle reveals she can heal him. However, for that to happen Sam must remember.

Sam was confusing, when she is forced to face the facts in front of her sometimes she simply ignores them and shuts down, other times she accepts them easily. But that has a lot to do with what happened to her and the fact that she doesn't remember and still forgets traumatic events. In the end the way she reacted was very mature and all in all she was a likable character.
Alex was cagey and didn't really let anyone in, so we the readers don't know much about him either, but I liked him. His decision in the end was honorable. 

This was an easy fast read and it has a satisfactory ending. It is not a stand alone but I honestly like the ending as it is... 

Find the book at: 


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.