Skip to main content

Explicit by Ava Harrison- 3.8/5 Stars

Explicit by Ava Harrison
Such a fantastic read. It owned me from beginning to end.
Explicit was an emotional rollercoaster. It was hard to put this book down once I started it.
The two main characters were broken. Both imperfect. And yet, they were perfect for each other.
I can't say I liked the title and blurb...I don't think it represented the book well. I was expecting something completely different. I mean, I am thrilled with what I got, it just wasn't what I was expecting...

So... the story is about Pierce and Lindsey. Both imperfect characters full of flaws and hurt. Both try to bury their pain on alcohol and drugs.
Lindsey had an accident and is clean. Trying to get her life back together and get over the physical limitations her accident left her with. She is still healing both inside and out, but she is slowly getting there. She is tough girl!
Pierce is another story all together. He doesn't know anything beyond alcohol, sex and drugs. He doesn't have anyone to trust, to be himself with, to help him focus on other things. It is impossible not to feel for him even when he is doing the most stupid things. He needs someone to trust, he needs someone to believe in him, and he needs time. 

I think this was a great story that will have your heart palpitating often. 
My only issue with it is that the story starts really fast and because all the characters appear to have a background story to them that I should know but don't I felt like I was missing something the whole time. If I could turn back the clock I would read the other books first. Explicit is a standalone, but it didn't really feel like one to me. Here is a little list (one I wish I had before starting it) of the other books:

Other books in the series: 

Illicit by Ava Harrison ➜ Carson & Lynn's story
Clandestine A Novel by Ava Harrison ➜ Spencer & Olivia's story
Sordid by Ava Harrison ➜ Grant & Bridget's story
Explicit by Ava Harrison ➜ Pierce & Lindsey's story


Find Explicit at: Amazon - Audible

*arc provided in exchange for an honest review*


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.