Skip to main content

Explicit by Ava Harrison- 3.8/5 Stars

Explicit by Ava Harrison
Such a fantastic read. It owned me from beginning to end.
Explicit was an emotional rollercoaster. It was hard to put this book down once I started it.
The two main characters were broken. Both imperfect. And yet, they were perfect for each other.
I can't say I liked the title and blurb...I don't think it represented the book well. I was expecting something completely different. I mean, I am thrilled with what I got, it just wasn't what I was expecting...

So... the story is about Pierce and Lindsey. Both imperfect characters full of flaws and hurt. Both try to bury their pain on alcohol and drugs.
Lindsey had an accident and is clean. Trying to get her life back together and get over the physical limitations her accident left her with. She is still healing both inside and out, but she is slowly getting there. She is tough girl!
Pierce is another story all together. He doesn't know anything beyond alcohol, sex and drugs. He doesn't have anyone to trust, to be himself with, to help him focus on other things. It is impossible not to feel for him even when he is doing the most stupid things. He needs someone to trust, he needs someone to believe in him, and he needs time. 

I think this was a great story that will have your heart palpitating often. 
My only issue with it is that the story starts really fast and because all the characters appear to have a background story to them that I should know but don't I felt like I was missing something the whole time. If I could turn back the clock I would read the other books first. Explicit is a standalone, but it didn't really feel like one to me. Here is a little list (one I wish I had before starting it) of the other books:

Other books in the series: 

Illicit by Ava Harrison ➜ Carson & Lynn's story
Clandestine A Novel by Ava Harrison ➜ Spencer & Olivia's story
Sordid by Ava Harrison ➜ Grant & Bridget's story
Explicit by Ava Harrison ➜ Pierce & Lindsey's story


Find Explicit at: Amazon - Audible

*arc provided in exchange for an honest review*


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

Guest Author Q&A with Tijan- Just my all time favorite romance writer!

2018 has started really well here at Glimpses Of My Books!  Last month I had one of my all time favorite Young Adult writer gracing us with her presence ( Morgan Rhodes ), this month I have the author that has in a very short period of time became my ALL TIME favorite romance writer (seriously... I have read about 10 of her books and just bought another 4 this week)! To think I didn't know her this time last year... sacrilege!  If you like sexy romance stories with depth and great characters give her books a go! Check out this post for the review on her latest book,  Ryan's Bed Some of Tijan's books that I have come to Love I am so very excited to do this Q&A with you! Ever since I found your books (thanks to a bookstagram friend) I have been hooked. And your last book, Ryan’s Bed, was pure perfection! THANK YOU!!! When did you start writing? Was it a hobby at first or did you always wanted to be a writer? This will make me sound crazy, b