Skip to main content

Dirty by Kylie Scott- 4 stars (audiobook)

This was my first book by this author and I really enjoyed it. It had a nice and slow burn sounding romance, a good story, great secondary characters, plenty of passion and drama.

The Blurb: 
The last thing Vaughan Hewson expects to find when he returns to his childhood home is a broken hearted bride in his shower, let alone the drama and chaos that comes with her.

Lydia Green doesn't know whether to burn down the church or sit and cry in a corner. Discovering the love of your life is having an affair on your wedding day is bad enough. Finding out it's with his best man is another thing all together. She narrowly escapes tying the knot and meets Vaughan only hours later.

Vaughan is the exact opposite of the picture perfect, respected businessman she thought she'd marry. This former musician-turned-bartender is rough around the edges and unsettled. But she already tried Mr. Right and discovered he's all wrong-maybe it's time to give Mr. Right Now a chance.

After all, what's wrong with getting dirty?
 


This was a quick and fun read. Both main characters were well written and enjoyable to read. Lydia is a fun and good hearted girl that got pretty much played by her ex. Her flaws and insecurities are very relatable to just about every woman out there. Vaughn was charming, funny, thoughtful, protective... Your all-round nice guy. But also hurt and most certainly not looking for anything with anyone.
I thought their story was beautiful and the way their feelings for each progressed worked well. My only issue is that considering where both characters come from insta-love doesn't quite work: leaving the fiance at the altar today and finding yourself in love with another man a week later sounds wrong. I like how their romance progressed but it would have sounded better if the author had said 5 months rather than 5 days...

The last line of the blurb I also didn't like. The book could do with a better title. There is nothing wrong with Vaughan, much the contrary, he is an AMAZING character, I felt for him the whole way. So the title and the question at the end of the blurb are lost on me (and if it is a reference to sex, it is a bad one in this case). 

Find the Book: Amazon - GoodReads - Barnes&Noble 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation