Skip to main content

One is a Promise by Pam Godwin 2.5/5 Stars


I don't really know what to say...

I really liked the story-line and the book was very well written. When it ended -well, when I thought it should have ended- it was perfect. The perfect HEA (happily ever after).
Trace was perfection! I love bad boys (in books) and he was the best arrogant, rude, self centered bad boy there is. Hot hot hot 😃 He also loved intensively and passionately. He helped her move on, he helped her let go of her dead fiance. Most importantly, he did not push. He wanted her, but he never pushed. He waited till she was ready. He was pure perfection! 
But then... then the author messed it all up in the last 5 or so pages. I HATED the ending. Because of the book blurb I knew it was coming (I removed the last lines from the blurb for you guys since it is a massive spoiler), but that didn't make it any less surprising and infuriating. 

It always amazes me how a 5 star book can turn into something you never want to read again because of the last few pages... and when that happens, I struggle to give it a rating. 

Here is the blurb for the book:

One promise.
One forever.

One look and I knew Cole was mine. My dark rebel in leather. My powerhouse of passion, devastating smiles, and impulsiveness.
When his job sends him overseas, he promises to return to me.
A promise that’s destroyed in the most irrevocable way.

Two years later, an arrogant suit invades my heartbroken loneliness.

Clean-cut and stern, Trace is everything Cole wasn’t.
At first, he’s a job that will rescue my dance company. But as he intrudes on my life, our hostile relationship evolves.
He knows I’m still in love with Cole (who is dead), but his dedication is my undoing.


BOOK TWO AND SPOILERS:
The next book, Two is a lie, starts where One is a promise left off. I read a few pages here and there and than the ending out of curiosity. But I will not be reading the book in full or the conclusion to the trilogy. I despise love triangles and this one in particular just gets me angry. 
She basically dates both of them at the same time. 
Trace gives her space, again! He waited three years after Cole disappeared to even talk to her, he thought he was possibly dead too. And now again he gives her what she needs (or tries to, she is b***). He holds her but does not f*** her, treats her with respect. 
Cole cannot be in the same room as her without wanting her in bed. It is clear, at least to me, which man is more deserving. But then, to perfectly honest, I think Trace deserves better than Danni!
And if that wasn't enough, in the end we find out Cole even cheated. 
In a way she did too (I say in a way because they knew she was seeing both of them), but NO. This is just wrong.
Love triangles are stupid!
In YA books I can tolerate them, there is usually a sweet innocence to them, usually there is no cheating, no sex (being geared to teens and all). But in NA's I most often than not despise it! 
1 star for Two is a Lie?! 
Sorry folks... just not for me. 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation