Skip to main content

Guest Blogger: Nina from Nina's Book Talk with The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater

This stunning pic is from Nina's Instagram and has a very
special place in my heart! (I love her mug pics and she
did this one with me in mind. My heart melted!)
Our Guest Blogger this week is Nina
Nina beautiful Nina has become one of my favorite people to have met via Instagram. I feel so very blessed to call this beauty a friend!

Her Favorite read in 2017 was The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater, needless to say, Nina has great taste on books 🙂

But, as per usual. lets have a little Q&A with her before we get to the review!

Hello my German beauty! 😉
Tell us a little bit about you before we go into bookish questions…
Where are you from?
Have you always lived there? Provided you don’t think it is rude, how old are you?
What are your hobbies besides reading?

Hi everyone, thank you for letting me be a guest blogger, Anne J
I’m from Germany and I’ve always lived here. My Grandparents are from Austria, though, and I love being there, too. I’m 28 year old. Sometimes I feel older, though, when every bone in my body hurts from reading in the wrong positions :-D
I love doing sports actually. I’ve played football since I was 12 years old and I still love playing it once a week. Also, I love doing Zumba and Yoga. And besides sports and reading, I like baking cakes J
If we were closer, I would invite myself over for tea.... humm... ALL the time!!!! 

- When/What got you into reading? 
I’ve actually always been a reader, but in 2015 I discovered books like Looking for Alaska and the Divergent series, so that got me into YA. Before that, I almost only read classics and adult contemporary.

- We know what your favorite read in 2017 was now, but what were your top 3 2017 book releases?
Eliza & her monsters by Francesca Zappia
Caraval by Stephanie Garber
Show Stopper by Hayley Barker

- Do you have a favorite genre?
Mostly YA Contemporary and YA fantasy

- Is there a book you really did not enjoy reading this past year? Which one? Why?
I didn’t like Who runs the world? By Virginia Bergin. It’s set in the future where men are myths and one day a boy is discovered in the woods and the women don’t know what to do with him and how he got there. I think the story wasn't so interesting and the blurb was and I think it was poorly written.

- Do you have an all-time favorite book or book series?
As you may know my all-time favorite is the Six of Crows duology. I’ve reread them a millions times maybe J And my favorite Standalone is Looking for Alaska. To this day, I can’t seem to make up my mind about the ending.

- How about a favorite author?
I have a few actually. I absolutely love Leigh Bardugo and Maggie Stiefvater. But I also love John Green and a German Author called Benedict Wells. I just discovered him this year and he writes the absolute best broken and well-thought-out characters.

- The bookstagram world has exploded with bookish merch this past year, are you into any of it? If so, share us some of your favorite companies. --Our head blogger might hold it against you if you answer yes and forget the best bookish shop on etsy. Just saying 🤣—
Of course, the bookish letters from a certain  etsy shop are the most beautiful thing in the world J
But other than that, I have to say I don’t really buy stuff for myself. Most of the merch I have from fairy loot and owlcrate and from friends (Like you, my love J ) The things I buy for friends are usually from etsy, and the only one I really remember is readandwonder and skinnyhues.

- Last but not least, where else in this big wide web world can we find you?
You can find me on Instagram and on my blog

Thank you so much, Anne, for having me and for being the lovely friend you are 💗


The review: 
The Scorpio Races by Maggie Stiefvater 

This book surprised me so much! It is about horses and I really don’t like horses but this book was different.
I love this book for so many reasons. I love it for the subtle romance, the sweet brother Finn, who I absolutely adore. I love it for the world-building, for the fascinating writing style. November cakes. I even searched for the famous November Cakes on the World Wide Web and even found a recipe Maggie Created. But I haven’t tried it yet.
I can’t really think of a thing I didn’t like, because even the scenes I hated were written so well.
Also, I absolutely love the world Maggie built here and I cared so, so much about Puck and Sean.

This book is really a highlight of my year and I’m so glad I finally read it.



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation