Skip to main content

The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco- 100 out of 5 Stars! [arc review]

My arc has a beautiful blue cover, but this is nice too!
Hello sunnies 😎
I enjoyed The Bone witch... But I LOVED The Heart Forger! 💗 This book was nothing short of amazing. I expected it to be good, I did not expected it to rock my world. I finished reading it at about 2:30 am and then re-read all the quotes and passages I marked (I use Post-it flags, in case you wondering). It was THAT good! 

Here is the Blurb (GoodReads):
In The Bone Witch, Tea mastered resurrection―now she's after revenge...

No one knows death like Tea. A bone witch who can resurrect the dead, she has the power to take life...and return it. And she is done with her self-imposed exile. Her heart is set on vengeance, and she now possesses all she needs to command the mighty daeva. With the help of these terrifying beasts, she can finally enact revenge against the royals who wronged her―and took the life of her one true love.

But there are those who plot against her, those who would use Tea's dark power for their own nefarious ends. Because you can't kill someone who can never die...

War is brewing among the kingdoms, and when dark magic is at play, no one is safe.
 

I know I convinced some of you sunnies to give The Bone Witch a try via my Instagram, so if you haven't read it yet, stop at the end of this paragraph. It is rather difficult to write a review on the Heart Forger without telling you all one rather big piece of information from the very end of The Bone Witch, so I will not even try... It won't be a spoiler for The Heart Forger, but it will be for The Bone Witch!

The Heart Forger is told in a similar way to The Bone Witch, jumping from present events to past events. Interpolating the two in a way that explains Tea's and Kalen's actions all the way through.
It starts where The Bone Witch left off, with Tea, Bard, Kalen and the daevas off to war. From there we have plenty of dark magic, action, intrigue, plot twists, and a beautiful and real love story.
The plot evolves in a much faster pace than The Bone Witch did, since we already know at this point much of the world in which the story is set I guess there was less of a need for a detailed account of everything. That being said, it still retained its beautiful lyrical style of writing. Rin Chupeco is, no shadow of a doubt, a very talented story teller. 

Tea is an exceptional character. She is not a kid anymore and has learnt and suffered much since she resurrected her brother. She is darkness and light, a villain and a hero... it is all a matter of perspective.
Kalen has always been my favorite male character in the series and he does not disappoint here. I love his fierceness, his loyalty, his determination. 
In The Heart Forger we learn how Tea and Kalen got together, and let me tell you...it is a beautiful love story. One that starts with hatred (as we know from The Bone Witch), moves to admiration, friendship, and eventually love. Their story was pure perfection.

Khalad becomes a constant figure in the Heart Forger, both because he was the forger's apprentice and because he is helping Tea achieve her goals in the present. It is his presence (in my humble opinion) that gives the reader the certainty Tea has not gone dark and is truly innocent of the things she is accused of (even if she doubts her innocence sometimes too).

Funnily enough however, my favorite character in this amazing tale is the azi daeva! Can I have a three headed dragon as a pet please? 🤣 
I am afraid you will have to read the book to find out why he is so special though... 😘

This was a fantastic YA fantasy! It was packed with action, had beautiful scenery, plenty of twists and turns, an amazing love story -or two-, and it dealt with some major real life issues too. And it has, as did The Bone Witch, a darker theme when compared to other ya fantasies.All in all, what is not to like?!

A very special thanks goes to Source Books for providing me an Arc copy of this beauty. 
I am ready for book 3! It will be a long year...

The Heart Forger Amazon GoodReads 
Rin Chupeco's Website
Release date: March 20th






Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.