Skip to main content

The Heart Forger by Rin Chupeco- 100 out of 5 Stars! [arc review]

My arc has a beautiful blue cover, but this is nice too!
Hello sunnies 😎
I enjoyed The Bone witch... But I LOVED The Heart Forger! 💗 This book was nothing short of amazing. I expected it to be good, I did not expected it to rock my world. I finished reading it at about 2:30 am and then re-read all the quotes and passages I marked (I use Post-it flags, in case you wondering). It was THAT good! 

Here is the Blurb (GoodReads):
In The Bone Witch, Tea mastered resurrection―now she's after revenge...

No one knows death like Tea. A bone witch who can resurrect the dead, she has the power to take life...and return it. And she is done with her self-imposed exile. Her heart is set on vengeance, and she now possesses all she needs to command the mighty daeva. With the help of these terrifying beasts, she can finally enact revenge against the royals who wronged her―and took the life of her one true love.

But there are those who plot against her, those who would use Tea's dark power for their own nefarious ends. Because you can't kill someone who can never die...

War is brewing among the kingdoms, and when dark magic is at play, no one is safe.
 

I know I convinced some of you sunnies to give The Bone Witch a try via my Instagram, so if you haven't read it yet, stop at the end of this paragraph. It is rather difficult to write a review on the Heart Forger without telling you all one rather big piece of information from the very end of The Bone Witch, so I will not even try... It won't be a spoiler for The Heart Forger, but it will be for The Bone Witch!

The Heart Forger is told in a similar way to The Bone Witch, jumping from present events to past events. Interpolating the two in a way that explains Tea's and Kalen's actions all the way through.
It starts where The Bone Witch left off, with Tea, Bard, Kalen and the daevas off to war. From there we have plenty of dark magic, action, intrigue, plot twists, and a beautiful and real love story.
The plot evolves in a much faster pace than The Bone Witch did, since we already know at this point much of the world in which the story is set I guess there was less of a need for a detailed account of everything. That being said, it still retained its beautiful lyrical style of writing. Rin Chupeco is, no shadow of a doubt, a very talented story teller. 

Tea is an exceptional character. She is not a kid anymore and has learnt and suffered much since she resurrected her brother. She is darkness and light, a villain and a hero... it is all a matter of perspective.
Kalen has always been my favorite male character in the series and he does not disappoint here. I love his fierceness, his loyalty, his determination. 
In The Heart Forger we learn how Tea and Kalen got together, and let me tell you...it is a beautiful love story. One that starts with hatred (as we know from The Bone Witch), moves to admiration, friendship, and eventually love. Their story was pure perfection.

Khalad becomes a constant figure in the Heart Forger, both because he was the forger's apprentice and because he is helping Tea achieve her goals in the present. It is his presence (in my humble opinion) that gives the reader the certainty Tea has not gone dark and is truly innocent of the things she is accused of (even if she doubts her innocence sometimes too).

Funnily enough however, my favorite character in this amazing tale is the azi daeva! Can I have a three headed dragon as a pet please? 🤣 
I am afraid you will have to read the book to find out why he is so special though... 😘

This was a fantastic YA fantasy! It was packed with action, had beautiful scenery, plenty of twists and turns, an amazing love story -or two-, and it dealt with some major real life issues too. And it has, as did The Bone Witch, a darker theme when compared to other ya fantasies.All in all, what is not to like?!

A very special thanks goes to Source Books for providing me an Arc copy of this beauty. 
I am ready for book 3! It will be a long year...

The Heart Forger Amazon GoodReads 
Rin Chupeco's Website
Release date: March 20th






Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation