Skip to main content

Faking It (Losing it #2) by Cora Carmack- 5/5 Stars

Faking It, Cora Carmack
Hello Sunnies 🌞
Faking it was a LOT better than Losing it. Losing it was good, I gave a 4 star rating after all, but Faking it was a perfect HEA. 

It stars off with Cade, Bliss's best friend from Losing it. I really liked him in the first book and although this is a stand alone I do believe the book was as good as it was because we already knew so much about Cade. It helped made the story more rounded.
Cade moved to Philadelphia to act and do his master's degree. But he misses Bliss, still aches for her. On top of that his acting career is not really going anywhere. 

Max is a crazy girl full of tattoos, piercings, and an angry yet bright personality. She is a struggling musician hiding her true self from her parents in Philadelphia. They have no idea of the kind of life she leaves and most certainly never got to see the art in her body, they don't even know she has them.

Max and Cade meet at a coffee shop. Her parents call and tell her they are in town and would love to meet her perfect boyfriend, not a guy called Mace with a neck tattoo that drinks too much, plays in a band, and has a terrible personality. So she asks Cade to step in and fake a relationship with her for two days. Perfect Cade wins over her parents and for a number of reasons (not gonna spoil it for you all) they keep the ruse going after those two days.

I loved that we had a 'good' guy and a 'bad' girl. It is so often the opposite in NA.  That was refreshing. The dual POV was also fun, it gives the reader a look into both their minds and hearts.
The story is also about grief and acceptance, not just a love. And in the end, I think that is what made it extra special.


Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.