Skip to main content

The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh - 3/5 Stars

I cannot begin to explain how sadden I was after reading this. It was a good book, but the standards were set so high with The Wrath and the Dawn that this just didn't have a change. The Wrath and the Dawn will be in my heart for a long time still 💗

The rose and the dagger takes up were The wrath and the dawn left off. Shahrzad and Khalid are separated from one another, and Khalid's kingdom is running the risk of being destroyed.

Tariq was an idiot. In the first book it is understandable that he acts the way he does. I felt for him. Here he is just stupid and it annoyed me to no end. At least he acknowledges his foolishness towards the end (albeit too late for me).

Jalal, a character I loved in the first book also annoyed me here. He was the more mature of the royal cousins, the more down to earth, and yet he acts like a spoiled kid. 

What saves the book is Shahrzad and Artan. Shahrzad because she continues to be the character I feel in love with in the first book: fierce troublemaker, protective and loving; and Artan because of the touch of magic and because he made me laugh to no end. He added a lightness to an otherwise very intense story. 
Renee Ahdieh storytelling skills still are a thing of wonder! Each of the tales in the book is prettier and more enchanting than the other. 

All in all I wanted a lot more of Shahrzad and Khalid and a lot less of Tariq, the war, and Shahrzad sister. The whole romance with her sister annoyed me because it took page time that could be given to Khalid. I missed him the whole book!!!!! he was there, but  nowhere near enough.

SPOILER:

“As her thumb brushed over the etchings carved into the jade, Shahrzad tried her best to ignore the undeniable weight settling around her heart.
The weight of realization.
And the thrill of certainty.
I’m going home.”

“How much time had she wasted being afraid on the balcony?
Enough.
Squaring her shoulders, Shahrzad started for the screens—
And they slid open.
She halted in her tracks, refusing to look up.
Shahrzad knew it was Khalid. She sensed rather than saw him.
As always. As ever. As a rose to the sun.”

“His eyes gleamed molten gold. And they said all without a word.
Shahrzad drew her sodden waves to one side, splashing water by his feet.
“I’m sorry!” She wrinkled her nose. “That was—”
He pulled her in to his chest, a hand tangling through her hair. The beat of his heart rang loud and true against her cheek. The only measure of time that mattered.
She exhaled fast only to inhale deep. To breathe in his scent. The scent of sandalwood and sunshine. Her fingers moved across his skin, making memories of their own. The hands of a master swordsman. The lips of her greatest love. The heart of a king.
“Khalid.”



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation