Skip to main content

Unraveled (Whiskey Sharp #1) by Lauren Dane -3.5/5 Stars [arc review]

Hello Sunnies 🌞

This beautiful New Adult Romance comes out tomorrow, January 30th. Are you ready for it my romance readers?

Here is the Blurb:

Maybe Dolan has lived independent, free-spirited and unattached since leaving home at sixteen. Whiskey Sharp, Seattle's sexy vintage-styled barbershop and whiskey bar, gave her a job and a reason to put down roots. Cutting hair by day, losing herself drumming in a punk rock band by night, she's got it good.


But a longtime crush that turns into a hot, edgy night with brooding and bearded Alexsei Petrov makes it a hell of a lot better.

Maybe's blunt attitude and carnal smile hooked Alexsei from the start. Protecting people is part of his nature and Maybe is meant to be his even if she doesn't know it. Yet. He can't help himself from wanting to protect and care for her.

But Maybe's fiery independent spirit means pushing back when Alexsei goes too far. Still, he's not afraid to do a little pushing of his own to get what he wants her in his life, and his bed, for good. Maybe's more intoxicating than all the liquor on his shelf and he's not afraid to ride the blade's edge to bind her to him."


This was a sweet read. My favorite thing about it was how their relationship evolved over time, Maybe worked for Alexsei for two years before they ever started dating. There was friendship and respect between them before anything else. They are good for each other, she challenges him, he challenges her and they are both very caring people. 
Maybe lives with her sister and pretty much avoids her parents as much as she can, they are horrible people, at least to her. By the end of the book you will hate them, have no doubt. 
Alexsei's family is the opposite. They are loud, friendly, loving... they take their new neighbors (Maybe and her sister) into their fold and they quick become part of the family too. 

All in all it was a good romance novel, but there two downfalls for me: 
The first is that is was longer than it needed to be. As in, it got repetitive at times. Certain scenes happened so often it was a struggle not to roll my eyes. 
And the second issue I had with it is that it focuses too much on Maybe's sister, Rachel. I did my due diligence and I now know the next book focuses on Rachel, so I get the need to give her character some background, but it was just to much. Took away some of Maybe's and Alexsei's spot light. 


*Book Provided by the Publisher*
Written by: Lauren Dane
Series: Whiskey Sharp (Book 1)
Mass Market Paperback: 352 pages
Publication Date: January 30, 2018
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Find the Book at: GoodReads - Amazon - Barnes & Noble - Itunes 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.