Skip to main content

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake- 2.5/5 Stars


Kendare Blake is the author of Three Dark Crowns and One Dark Throne, books I have come to truly enjoy, so I decided to give this a go. Sadly the book didn't do much for me. Similarly to Wicked like a Wildfire I find this neither good or bad. It has an interesting enough story, it just doesn't excite in any way.

It was well written, had a good pace, a good enough story line. 

First we have Cas, a ghost hunter of sorts. His father would kill murderous ghosts and after he was brutally murdered by one the ghosts Cas took up the job upon himself. 
I didn't like him much to start with, very full of himself. But as the story progressed he became the most appealing thing in the book. 

Then we have Anna, the ghost. She is this terrifying thing that kills everyone that gets anywhere near her house. Anyone but Cas of-course. She is scary for a whole 5 minutes. After that she is just boring. Not bad, just dull. 
It is never explained why she doesn't have the urge to kill Cas, I personally believe that to be a mistake from the author. But than, would that have made the book any more appealing? probably not. 

The romance was... humm... dull! uneventful! boring! 
Once again, not bad, just lacking in passion, in excitement, in enthusiasm! It was all so 'one note'. 

All the side characters were good. And all the side characters suffered from the exact same thing Cas and Anna did: lack of something to excite, lack of depth! 

In conclusion, a good book. Just not a book I will remember anymore in a month's time! 



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.