Skip to main content

Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake- 2.5/5 Stars


Kendare Blake is the author of Three Dark Crowns and One Dark Throne, books I have come to truly enjoy, so I decided to give this a go. Sadly the book didn't do much for me. Similarly to Wicked like a Wildfire I find this neither good or bad. It has an interesting enough story, it just doesn't excite in any way.

It was well written, had a good pace, a good enough story line. 

First we have Cas, a ghost hunter of sorts. His father would kill murderous ghosts and after he was brutally murdered by one the ghosts Cas took up the job upon himself. 
I didn't like him much to start with, very full of himself. But as the story progressed he became the most appealing thing in the book. 

Then we have Anna, the ghost. She is this terrifying thing that kills everyone that gets anywhere near her house. Anyone but Cas of-course. She is scary for a whole 5 minutes. After that she is just boring. Not bad, just dull. 
It is never explained why she doesn't have the urge to kill Cas, I personally believe that to be a mistake from the author. But than, would that have made the book any more appealing? probably not. 

The romance was... humm... dull! uneventful! boring! 
Once again, not bad, just lacking in passion, in excitement, in enthusiasm! It was all so 'one note'. 

All the side characters were good. And all the side characters suffered from the exact same thing Cas and Anna did: lack of something to excite, lack of depth! 

In conclusion, a good book. Just not a book I will remember anymore in a month's time! 



Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation