Skip to main content

One Foot in the Grave (The Mortician's Daughter #1) by CC Hunter- 4.75/5 Stars [arc review]

I started off the year with 2 books with ghost stories, Anna Dressed in Blood  by Kendare Blake and One Food in the Grave by C C Hunter. The first was very middle of the road, neither good or bad (review soon), One foot in the Grave on the other hand was adorable!

Riley is by all accounts your average 17 year old teen. But she has an ability that most would call a curse: she can see ghosts. More exactly, she can see the ghosts of the dead people her father takes care off -her father is an mortician- and she helps the dead people to cross over. 
The two ghosts currently following her are very different. There is Hayden, who is the first ghost that doesn't feel cold to touch and doesn't appear at first to want anything from her. And Abby, who has a very tormented soul and is desperate to get Riley to help her.

Hayden wants to help her but it is difficult when the feelings she has for him keep growing. Falling for a dead boy is definitely not a good idea. While all that is going on, Riley also makes friends with tough and strong willed Kelsey at school. Their friendship was so beautiful to read and I am looking forward to more of it.

There is also Jacob, a cute boy from school who really likes Riley and tries his best to get in her good graces. Even Hayden wants Riley to give him a chance (since he is dead and all). I loved Jacob and I am actually rooting for him and not Hayden.

The whole tone of the book was sweet, I could not stop smiling while I read it.
Riley was a flawed character and that made her all more appealing and easy to relate. Hayden was way to sweet not to love. Swoon - swoon - swoon ! Their relationship (if you can call it that) was adorable. He was compassionate, caring, loving... his attitude over Jacob constantly asking Riley out was unexpected and made me admire the boy even more! 
The cliffhanger in the end is the only reason I cannot give it a 5 start rating. The book could have ended.... that being said I did LOVE the twist in the end and I am looking forward to the next book!

All in all this was an extremely charming read! Thank you so much EverAfterRomance for the book!

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation