Skip to main content

Frozen Tides (Falling Kingdoms #4) by Morgan Rhodes- 4.75/5 Stars


“If every mortal looked at others as their friends, not as their enemies, the world would be a much better place, wouldn’t it?”


Frozen tides... omg the ending... omg the ending... how perfect!
I just finished rereading this beauty yesterday and it was just as good the second time around. 

A lot happens here again. It is not as fast paced as Gathering Darkness was but it is still a masterpiece. But than you should take that comment with a grain of salt because Gathering Darkness will always have a special place in my heart. It is there that Magnus finally faces his many conflicting emotions and I just adore the man 😃

Literally everyone is fighting for something in Frozen Tides and in desperate search for the kindred. Everyone wants its power for themeslves. Our characters journeys, Cleo, Jonas, Magnus and Lucia is full of bloodshed, hurt, misplaced trust, and love. 

So... Magnus and Cleo are off in the north castle where Magnus gets to be in-charged. Not that Cleo lets that change her attitude towards him in any way shape or form! The more time they spend together the more aggravating it becomes to sit and read their interactions. The angst and the built up tension between the two is palpable! 

Cleo has grown soooo much. She is brave, fierce, smart. She is true to herself and never lets anything or anyone bring her down. She fights Gaius, she fights Magnus, she fights Amara... she will fight anyone that tries to reduce her to nothing.  And it is adorable how she is stands up for Magnus, how much she has come to believe in him besides his cruelness.

Magnus is still learning to be himself. To be a man apart from the comparisons everyone makes between him and his father. His personality will never change, he will always be a moody one, but he is learning that there is more to him and to those around him than he thought at first. He is also learning to trust his heart, not an easy task considering the plague of a girl who has hold of it 😉

Jonas is still alive. No, I don't know how. Every plot of his makes me laugh. He is easier to love here, some of his anger is gone, his character is finally developing into a mature person and come Crystal Storm he will really come into his own. 

Lucia has gone 'bananas'. She is putting her trust in Kyan and lets just say he is not a guy one should trust with anything. Ever! 

The 'evil' characters Moran Rhodes creates are all amazing for one very simple reason: although this is a fantasy book, they are all very human and very real. You will fell sympathy not only for Magnus, but also for Amara. And comes Crystal Storm, even Gaius.

"He glared down at the angry princess. She stared back up at him, without intimidation. Her shoulders back, her chin up, she was a burning torch in the middle of the cold, endless night. How he wished he was strong enough to hate her."

Magnus could change for her. She was his princess. No. She was his goddess. With her golden skin and golden hair. She was his light. His life. His everything.

He loved her more than anything else in this world.”



YOU WILL FIND THE REVIEW FOR THE 5TH BOOK, CRYSTAL STORM, HERE

The book: GoodReads - Amazon
The author: Falling Kingdoms page - Twitter 

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.