Skip to main content

Losing it by Cara Carmack 4/5 Stars

A fun, funny and sweet read!
My first by Cora Carmack but definitely not my last.

Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, Bliss Edwards decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible - a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no one with half-a-brain would ever believe. And as if that weren't embarrassing enough, when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, she recognizes her new theater professor. She'd left him naked in her bed about 8 hours earlier.

The book wasn't perfect, but it was close. I finished reading it in the morning and the characters stayed with me the whole day. That for me is a sign of good story.

Our protagonist's name is Bliss -how awesome is that name?-
She is a fun girl that often ends up saying the wrong thing or doing clumsy silly stuff. I smiled at her silliness and easy personality.

Garrick was your typical nice guy. He is however the reason I am giving 4 stars to this book and not 5. I liked him, but as a British person and I can tell you he was not well written as far as backgrounds go. That is literally the only thing that is meant to be exciting and different about him so it should have been done a little better. But as I said, I did like him... he was sweet and kind. He also felt very real with his feelings: he got hurt, got mad, asked forgiveness... 

Bliss's friends in the book were interesting too. I loved all her uni crowd and I am pleased to see that the next book focuses on one of her best friend's, Cade. For a little while there I almost wished he would end up with her, he understands and knows her really well.

All in all a great and well written story. It just needed a little better background for Garrick and a better book cover. That guy on the cover looks like a teen not a professor at a university! 

Comments

  1. This book was my nightmare! I liked very first few pages - it was light and funny (to the moment of the big reveal who Garrick is), but then it started to be so stupid. ;/ Bliss acted like a total child and Garrick was even worse. ;/

    @amanda.says

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Haha! Fair enough. I liked how light hearted it was, it worked for me.

      Delete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

The Prince of Broadway (Uptown Girls #2) by Joanna Shupe

Another masterpiece by Jonna Shupe! I loved every second of this book and I am already a third into the next book in the Uptown Girls  series. The Greene sisters are a hoot and the man they fall for can do nothing but be at their mercy.  Blurb: In the second novel in Joanna Shupe's the Uptown Girl series, a ruthless casino owner bent on revenge finds his plans upended by a beautiful woman who proves to be more determined than he is—and too irresistible to deny. Powerful casino owner. Ruthless mastermind. Destroyer of men. He lives in the shadows... As the owner of the city's most exclusive casino, Clayton Madden holds the fortunes of prominent families in the palms of his hands every night. There is one particular family he burns to ruin, however, one that has escaped his grasp... until now. She is society's darling... Florence Greene is no one's fool. She knows Clayton Madden is using her to ruin her prestigious family... and she's using him right back. She plans t

The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1) by Namina Forna

There was a time where I loved nothing more than a good YA fantasy. I guess that time is passed... either that or the quality of YA books coming out has fallen. This wasn't a bad book, it just was underwhelming . It has a very good concept, a good start, a good climax point, but everything else felt flat. Deka leaves in fear of the Blood Ceremony Day- the day she finds out if her blood runs pure (red) or if she has gold blood, which is met with a death sentence. Needless to say, her blood runs gold. She is killed again and again just to wake, limbs reattaching themselves... It is a gory and interesting start. I was intrigued as to what she was and where this was going.  Someone from the capital comes an offers her a deal: fight for the emperor with other girls like her or stay at the village being killed until someone figures out how to give her her true death. Let's face it, it is an easy choice.  The book celebrates female friendships, sisterhood! Families from circumstance a

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.