Skip to main content

Losing it by Cara Carmack 4/5 Stars

A fun, funny and sweet read!
My first by Cora Carmack but definitely not my last.

Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, Bliss Edwards decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible - a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no one with half-a-brain would ever believe. And as if that weren't embarrassing enough, when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, she recognizes her new theater professor. She'd left him naked in her bed about 8 hours earlier.

The book wasn't perfect, but it was close. I finished reading it in the morning and the characters stayed with me the whole day. That for me is a sign of good story.

Our protagonist's name is Bliss -how awesome is that name?-
She is a fun girl that often ends up saying the wrong thing or doing clumsy silly stuff. I smiled at her silliness and easy personality.

Garrick was your typical nice guy. He is however the reason I am giving 4 stars to this book and not 5. I liked him, but as a British person and I can tell you he was not well written as far as backgrounds go. That is literally the only thing that is meant to be exciting and different about him so it should have been done a little better. But as I said, I did like him... he was sweet and kind. He also felt very real with his feelings: he got hurt, got mad, asked forgiveness... 

Bliss's friends in the book were interesting too. I loved all her uni crowd and I am pleased to see that the next book focuses on one of her best friend's, Cade. For a little while there I almost wished he would end up with her, he understands and knows her really well.

All in all a great and well written story. It just needed a little better background for Garrick and a better book cover. That guy on the cover looks like a teen not a professor at a university! 

Comments

  1. This book was my nightmare! I liked very first few pages - it was light and funny (to the moment of the big reveal who Garrick is), but then it started to be so stupid. ;/ Bliss acted like a total child and Garrick was even worse. ;/

    @amanda.says

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Haha! Fair enough. I liked how light hearted it was, it worked for me.

      Delete

Post a Comment

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation