Skip to main content

Immortal Reign by Morgan Rhodes, the end of Falling Kingdoms #6

Falling Kingdoms Books 1 to 6! The end of an era... I wana cry...
This is a sad day... For months I waited for this book, and now... now I cannot believe I am about to write the last review for Falling Kingdoms (no spoilers). My heart aches... I will miss my babies tremendously. 

All in all, Immortal Reign deserves a solid 5/5 stars, it had a more than satisfying ending. It was another great book by a great writer. 
The book had a little bit of everything: a few romances, action, mystery, magic, glimpses of the past, secrets told, and secrets revealed...

Immortal Reign
The main thing to me is that the story never stopped. I could not catch a break to breath. There was something going on the whole time. Everyone is possessed in the book by a force or other at some point too. It is crazy. I was honestly starting to suffer from anxiety in my couch 🤣 And that is not a bad thing at all, I very much enjoy books that keep you on your toes like that. 

It is hard to say much else without giving spoilers but I will try...

Magnus survives! But everyone knows that by now. How he survives is the interesting part. 
In Immortal Reign we finally find in Magnus a man sure of himself and of what he wants, he loves Cleo, and he wants her safe. That is it. Whatever the cost. It took a few chapters for their paths to cross but when it did it did not disappoint.

Cleo has grown a lot in the series but in Immortal Reign she is little different. She is not as fearless anymore, and she shouldn't be, the water kindred could take her over at any point. We get to see a more soft side of her, she is not as ferocious and challenging as she was in the previous books. A bit, its part of who she is after all, but not as much.

Jonas and Lucia's paths is confusing, but also interesting... They kept defying their destiny's till the  very end. On all my previous reviews of the series I kept asking myself how on earth Jonas is still alive, this time however it all made sense. Jonas presence, albeit not a leading one, made sense. I was glad for that.
And Lucia is back to who she was in book one, a nice sweet girl that loves her family. She is not innocent anymore, she has killed and kills again, but it was nice to see her 'back'.  

Gaius and Amara...I always liked them, always liked how real and human they came across on the page, and I do even more now. The way their stories ended was perfect. Could not have been done better really. 

Nic is possessed by Kyan and...well... sorry, that's it. Can't say more without spoilers! 
Ashur doesn't grace as with his presence much in the last book, just enough so that the story makes sense.

The ending was perfect. There is a heavy sense of finality to it all. I closed the book and had to open and reread a few sections again because I wasn't and still am not ready to say goodbye to those amazing characters. It is a strange feeling to know that this is it. 
There is a hint or two that the story could potentially continue as a spin-off someday or even tie itself to the current spin-off series, but that doesn't mean it will happen or that it has to. It just gives the reader something to dream about I guess... The ending really was perfect!

The only thing in the book I didn't love and found unnecessary (but not enough to lower my score) was Amara's grandmother and what she proceeds to do. That didn't quite fit in the story for me, you will see...

Well... that is it 😢 It has been an amazing 6 years...
A big thank you to the AMAZING Morgan Rhodes for providing us with such a wonderful and magical place to escape to. 

The sadness I feel ... I don't want it to end


*Book provided by Penguin*

The book: Amazon - Barnes & Nobble - Penguin - FK Official site - GoodReads - Facebook
The author: Twitter - Tumblr





Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Marriage on Madison Avenue (Central Park Pact #3) by Lauren Layne [arc review]

Marriage on Madison Avenue, Lauren Layne From New York Times bestselling author Lauren Layne, comes the final installment of the Central Park Pact series, a heartfelt and laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s perfect for fans of Sally Thorne and Christina Lauren.

Ryan's Bed by Tijan - One Million Stars!!!

WOW! There are no words to describe how amazing this book was...PERFECTION 💗 I cried at page 8, I cried again around page 50, and again and again many times later... and here is the thing: I am not a crier. Specially not a book crier. Tijan opened my chest, saw my heart, grabbed it, squeezed it, and than squeezed it again. Ryan's Bed was a masterpiece! Mackenzie is broken, her twin sister just killed herself and life is but a nightmare. Her twin, Willow, was everything to her and the one that excelled at everything. And her little brother Robbie is a genius. But Mac? Mac was always the odd one out. It is wrong she lived and her twin died. It was wrong of her twin to leave her. And to top it all off her family just moved to a new house, a new city. Nothing is as it should be. The day after her twin sister kills herself Mac meets Ryan. She gets lost in his house and instead of finding his sister's bed, she finds his. He doesn't kick her out, he understands her p

November 9 by Colleen Hoover - 5+ stars

This is only my third book by Colleen Hoover, and going into it I wasn't sure what to think because I didn't like the sound of the blurb. On top of that, when I shared with people that I would be reading it there were a few negative come backs.  I am so so glad I still read it. The book was GREAT! I really don't get or agree with all the negative comments... To me the book was sweet, romantic, full of drama, entertaining... all a New Adult novel should be. I read it in one sitting, 5 hours I think... I tried to put down twice at least and ended up going in for just 'one more chapter' both times. Obviously that trick didn't work 🤣 Here is the Blurb: Fallon meets Ben, an aspiring novelist, the day before her scheduled cross-country move. Their untimely attraction leads them to spend Fallon’s last day in L.A. together, and her eventful life becomes the creative inspiration Ben has always sought for his novel. Over time and amidst the various relation